Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Books are Pop Culture Interview & April Tour Dates

I had *a time* that night with Reggie and Akili. Love visiting with folks about Alice and Alabama ♥️

Good evening, loves. First, I want to offer my sincerest appreciation for new, and continuing, subscribers. Thank you for continuing to support my journey on Lioness Tales.

This evening, I’m posting my interview with Reggie Bailey & Akili Nzuri from Books are Pop Culture. They titled our episode “West Alabama,” and I won’t spoil it for why. But rest assured I had a great visit with them about the history of Black towns and settlements, the importance of centering ourselves in narratives about our lives, and how we are living proof that our grandparents obviously had game (because, *ahem*). If you want to laugh, think, laugh, and think, watch our interview above! And while you’re at it, check out their Substack

for some serious, thought-provoking, and intentional writing about navigating this world in the skin we’re in.

I have been traveling on and off since January, and the response to Moonrise Over New Jessup has exceeded every expectation. Bringing New Jessup to the world has been the thrill of my life. I am remarkably honored to pay this tribute to my ancestors and elders—people who never asked for recognition other than for their descendants to find peace, and a place on this soil where we can thrive. It has been the truest blessing to engage with people about the importance of our history. Time and again, I have witnessed creative imagination take over a space as an audience acknowledges, and heeds, all that the ancestors and elders did for us. The ones who came before me deserve so much more than I could ever give.

Thank you to everyone who continues to read, engage with, and spread the word about Moonrise Over New Jessup. It does my heart good to see folks visiting with Alice, Raymond, and them in New Jessup, Alabama (bold because I speak Alabama with my whole chest).


*APRIL TOUR DATES*

Hope to see you if you’re around the midwest in mid-April! RSVP below for dates in South Bend, Indiana (at the University of Notre Dame), Chicago, Illinois, and Detroit, Michigan. All events are FREE and OPEN TO THE PUBLIC. Bring your books or buy them onsite—either way, we’ll be talking Alabama, and I’ll be signing after the event.

RSVP for South Bend HERE

RSVP for Chicago HERE

RSVP for Detroit HERE

Until next time, be blessed, loves.

Jamila

0 Comments
Lioness Tales
Lioness Tales
Authors
Jamila Minnicks